Gore Vidal Dies


At home on my parents’ bookshelf always sat a copy of Vidal’s A Search for the King (1950), with an introduction by Anthony Burgess. Despite being an avid reader, and despite this work sitting up on the shelf for as long as I can remember, I have only read one of Vidal’s works, The City and the Pillar (1948), arguably his greatest and undeniably his most controversial work, about an openly gay man in America post-World War II. Vidal has now passed at age 86 (on July 31), and I’ll now take the time I should have taken before he died to read more of his works, starting with Search for the King.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Gore Vidal Dies

  1. I still haven’t read any of his work either…

Leave a Reply

